Recovery from coronavirus* 76%
Peak date*: 9/16/2020

This page contains information about the current situation with COVID-19 recovery in Malta.

Last update: 2020-09-23T00:00:00.0000000

Travelling to Malta
Travelling from EU countries is allowed without restrictions, with the exception of Sweden.

Travelling from Norway, Switzerland, Iceland and Liechtenstein, as well as the United Kingdom, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City State and Republic of San Marino, is allowed without restrictions.

All these countries are considered to be part of a Public Health Corridor (PHC). The official list is available at

Travelling from Malta or returning to Malta
Maltese citizens or persons with a valid Residency Permit for Malta do not need any special authorisation to return to Malta. To travel to Malta you may fly from any "corridor country" (see list of countries at If travelling from a country from which outbound travel is not yet permitted and if the authorities of the country require it, you may request a travel confirmation letter. This document is intended for entry into Malta and not for border crossing in third countries, as this remains at the discretion of the country concerned. Kindly direct requests to, copying

As holders of Malta residency permits (please send scanned copies of your documents to, you will be able to travel directly to Malta and adhere to the Medical Protocol for testing and quarantine of persons arriving in Malta, which includes:
- PCR Swab Test done within 7 days of flying to Malta, which must be negative (the result, from a licensed or accredited lab, must be available by the time of travel)
- PCR Swab Test performed in the 48 hours after arrival in Malta (For an appointment for a free test please contact 111 or +356 2132 4086 if calling from a non-Maltese line)
- PCR Swab Test on day 12/13 from arrival in Malta

Full 14 day quarantine from the date of arrival must also be observed. Both you and your household members have to undergo the quarantine. If you are the only returning traveller, you must not get in contact with any other member of your household. The quarantine period needs to be observed in full, regardless of any negative swab results.

Rules and Exceptions
Travellers are allowed to enter Malta as long as they have stayed in a "corridor country" for a minimum of 14 days. Persons coming to Malta must not transit through airports located outside the list of corridor countries. Amber countries from which travellers to Malta require proof of negative PCR COVID-19 swab test done within previous 72 hours currently are:

- France (all Paris airports and Marseille)
- Romania
- Spain (persons arriving from Barcelona, Girona, Madrid)
- Tunisia
- Czech Republic

Mandatory Travel Documentation
All persons travelling to Malta must complete the Public Health Travel Declaration and the Passenger Locator Form.

Links to national sources
Documents you need to travel in Europe

TERMS AND CONDITIONS © 2020. All rights reserved.